Drug Crimes in North Carolina
What is a “Drug” in North Carolina?
Drugs fall into 6 categories in North Carolina
Typically highly addictive, mind altering substances such as heroin, morphine, mescaline (“peyote”), Psilocybin (“shrooms”), MMDA and MDMA (“Molly or Ecstasy”).
Mostly consists of pain medications and include Opium, Oxycodone, Fentanyl, Amphetamine, Methamphetamine
Mostly consists of substances that have a depressive effect on the centeral nervous system or sedatives such as Barbituates, Ketamine, Codeine, and also Testosterone
This is a mix of stimulants and depressants such as Depressants (such as Xanax, Valium, and Klonopin) or Stimulants (such as Cathine aka “Khat”or Phentermine)
Consists of high quantities of over the counter medicines sold at retail stores without a perscription as well as smaller quantities of codine
This is mostly made up of Marijuana, Hashish and Synthetic Cannabinoids
– Common ways to get a drug charge
Aside from carrying illegal drugs, putting your perscription medication in an unmarked container that does not state your name and medicatoin information from the phamracy can result in a drug charge despite the medication being perscribed to you.
Types of Drug Offenses
Simple Drug Possession
This implies you are posessing the drug with the intent of using it.
Possession of Drug Paraphernalia
This is a Class 1 Misdemeanor. Also, fun facts: in North Carolina, a person faces more jail time for a baggie than the actual possession of marijuana. Common drug paraphernalia include:
- Bowls & Bongs
- Rolling papers
- Steel Wool
- Pill bottles
- Roach Clips
Possession with Intent to Sell, Manufacture or Deliver
In North Carolina, the production or sale of marijuana is illegal. Marijuana does not even have to be sold for these penalties to apply. All that is needed it the conspiracy and or the intent to sell.
- Up 10 lbs. = Up to $5,000 fine and/or up to 1 year prison time.
- 10 to 50 lbs.. Up to $500 fine and/or 25-30 months prison time.
- 50 to 2,000 lbs. Up to $25,000 fine and/or 35-42 months prison time.
- 2,000 to 10,000 lbs. Up to $50,000 fine and/or 70-84 months prison time.
- 10,000 or more lbs. Up to $200,000 fine and/or 179-219 months prison time.